The Quilter's Last Resort
The Quilter's Last Resort

The LAST place you'll have to find when looking for quilting companions.
 
HomeHome  Quilters ResortQuilters Resort  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Happy July Everyone!!!


Share | 
 

 What's your opinion of the Viking Sapphire machine?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: What's your opinion of the Viking Sapphire machine?   Tue Jun 02, 2009 3:39 pm

I am giving some thought to up-dating my sewing maching. It's been a long time since I did that. Today I looked at a Viking Sapphire. What's your opinion..... good and/orbad scratch .
Back to top Go down
QBee - Mary Ann

avatar

Number of posts : 4205
Age : 67
Location : Granite Falls Minnesota
Registration date : 2008-09-03

PostSubject: Re: What's your opinion of the Viking Sapphire machine?   Tue Jun 02, 2009 5:39 pm

Paws - My machine is a Husqvarna Viking Designer II - I don't know how that compares to the Sapphire, but I love my machine!! I took a quick look and it seems there are 3 models of the sapphire. These are the things that came to mind that I wonder about:
1) Only the top model has the thread cutter. I really like that feature.
2) The bottom model doesn't have text for the sewing advisor. I'd want to know what you see if there's not text.
3) I don't know what the bobbin sensor is for sure - but my machine beeps a warning when the bobbin is nearly empty - another nice feature - seems it's only on the top model Sapphire.
4) If it were me, I'd want to make sure it has a nice, adjustable blanket stitch for machine applique.
How exciting for you!! For 25+ years I loved my old Elna Super, and I never complained. When I decided to update and go the DII - well, I couldn't believe how wonderful it was to have all these extra features!!
Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: What's your opinion of the Viking Sapphire machine?   Thu Jun 04, 2009 7:26 am

QBee...thanks for your help. I did make my decision :yahoo: .
Back to top Go down
QBee - Mary Ann

avatar

Number of posts : 4205
Age : 67
Location : Granite Falls Minnesota
Registration date : 2008-09-03

PostSubject: Re: What's your opinion of the Viking Sapphire machine?   Thu Jun 04, 2009 10:33 am

PAWS!! How could you only tell us "I made my decision". What is it???
Back to top Go down
BearFoot



Number of posts : 901
Location : Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Registration date : 2008-09-02

PostSubject: Re: What's your opinion of the Viking Sapphire machine?   Thu Jun 04, 2009 11:32 am

She's a suspenseful little devil lol!
Back to top Go down
nuffsaid



Number of posts : 41
Location : Budapest, Hungary
Registration date : 2008-09-04

PostSubject: Re: What's your opinion of the Viking Sapphire machine?   Thu Jun 04, 2009 2:43 pm

I have a Sapphire 830--the bottom model. I love it! It sews like a workhorse, it has the needle down option, which, when you stop stitching, the needle is down but the foot is up about 1/8"--enough to allow you to slip the next piece of fabric under the foot. It has a good number of stitches--and this is where I wish I had a higher version--for more stitches. I have never used a machine that had the automatic thread cutter nor does my model have the almost empty bobbin warning beep--but it's pretty easy to see through the bobbin plate to see how full the bobbin is. My machine was a gift to me--so I can't kick the gift horse in the mouth, but I really love my machine. If I could choose, I would get the top of the line model . . . One great thing about the Sapphire is that it has a 14" throat--which gives you more room for the quilt.

Viking now has the Diamond machine, which is a golly-gee-whiz machine with everything you could ever want.

Carolyn
Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: What's your opinion of the Viking Sapphire machine?   Thu Jun 04, 2009 3:19 pm

I did purchase the Sapphire 870 yesterday. Haven't had time yet to sit down and play.
It does have some nice features. It had been 16 years since I updated.

Carolyn, that's a darn nice gift.
Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: What's your opinion of the Viking Sapphire machine?   Fri Jun 05, 2009 1:22 pm

Congratulations Paws! It's so fun to get a new machine. Did they offer you classes so you could learn all that it can do?
Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: What's your opinion of the Viking Sapphire machine?   Fri Jun 05, 2009 1:32 pm

Yes Ann, there are classes. They said as many as I want or need.
And..........that may be a lot doh . So many things to learn.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: What's your opinion of the Viking Sapphire machine?   

Back to top Go down
 
What's your opinion of the Viking Sapphire machine?
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» What's your opinion of the Viking Sapphire machine?
» What Car Do You Drive?
» Goldberg Hi-Thrust Viking/ TD .049
» George Clooney gives his opinion on twitter and facebook, says "anyone who is famous is a moron if they're on Twitter"
» Work in progress S-3A VIKING 1-48 Italeri

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
The Quilter's Last Resort :: Patchwork and Quilting :: Machines: Sergers, Embroidery, Long Arm and Short Arm-
Jump to: