The Quilter's Last Resort
The Quilter's Last Resort

The LAST place you'll have to find when looking for quilting companions.
 
HomeHome  Quilters ResortQuilters Resort  RegisterRegister  Log in  



Wishing you all a Happy and Peaceful Holiday Season


Share | 
 

 Need opinions on sashing and borders

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Jill



Number of posts : 4414
Age : 67
Location : SE Ohio
Registration date : 2010-11-15

PostSubject: Need opinions on sashing and borders   Mon Oct 24, 2011 4:35 pm

I found this block in quilterscache and although they show it with sashing and borders in the light fabric, I'm wondering if it will make it too light. I could use one of the other colors--the red, green, or blue. What do you think?


Back to top Go down
Anita M.



Number of posts : 6324
Age : 59
Registration date : 2008-09-03

PostSubject: Re: Need opinions on sashing and borders   Mon Oct 24, 2011 5:06 pm

Either way would work. Sometimes they do light borders so the quilting will show up. Depends what kind of effect you want.
Back to top Go down
Gimpy Cat
Admin


Number of posts : 20333
Age : 47
Location : Edge of The World - Tasmania, Australia
Registration date : 2008-09-02

PostSubject: Re: Need opinions on sashing and borders   Mon Oct 24, 2011 5:51 pm

How many blocks and what are you planning on making with it? The tan colour in the centre could look nice as a border, as could the other colours. My advice initially - lay that block onto each of the co-ordinating fabrics and take a photo of it, including laying it on a light fabric like the pattern shows. Then look at each photo - you'd be amazed how often one just leaps out at you screaming to be used and another will just make your block look poorly. You could always post the various pics here for us to vote on too if you wanted. My camera is my most valuabl tool in choosing fabrics to go with stuff, its like seeing it with somene elses eyes and it doesnt cost to do!

Oh and Jill, I love the block, its really pretty and your fabric choices are wonderful

_________________
"My will is mine.....I shall not make it soft for you"  Aeschylus, Agamemnon
Back to top Go down
QBee - Mary Ann



Number of posts : 4205
Age : 66
Location : Granite Falls Minnesota
Registration date : 2008-09-03

PostSubject: Re: Need opinions on sashing and borders   Mon Oct 24, 2011 6:05 pm

Lovely block! My choice would be to set the blocks off with the gold color and then use the blue or red for border. Gimpy's suggestion of using your camera is spot-on, though. It's really quite amazing to me how much better I can see and decide when I look at pictures.
Back to top Go down
BearFoot



Number of posts : 901
Location : Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Registration date : 2008-09-02

PostSubject: Re: Need opinions on sashing and borders   Mon Oct 24, 2011 6:13 pm

Sometimes when you use a light sashing that matches the backgroud fabric, it makes the blocks "float" which can be a wonderful effect.
Back to top Go down
Jill



Number of posts : 4414
Age : 67
Location : SE Ohio
Registration date : 2010-11-15

PostSubject: Re: Need opinions on sashing and borders   Mon Oct 24, 2011 6:36 pm

Here's a picture of the quilt that was on the quilterscache site.



Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: Need opinions on sashing and borders   Mon Oct 24, 2011 6:49 pm

That looks good as a picture Jill but notice that the background colours don't butt up against each other as they would in reality With it being drawn there is a dark line between each white piece . In reality wouldn't the block pieces and the sashing/borders just disappear into each other ? Have you tried laying your block against the fabric you have used as the light ? I do like the look of the quilt in the picture but as I said it would not look like that in reality
Back to top Go down
memaw4



Number of posts : 9479
Age : 61
Location : South East Ohio
Registration date : 2008-09-03

PostSubject: Re: Need opinions on sashing and borders   Mon Oct 24, 2011 7:16 pm

All great ideas Jill. I love the hunter green myself......
Back to top Go down
Luvsquilting



Number of posts : 2736
Age : 62
Location : Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA
Registration date : 2008-09-27

PostSubject: Re: Need opinions on sashing and borders   Mon Oct 24, 2011 7:18 pm

I really like that background in the light fabric. I was all set to schedule the gold for sashing and the blue for cornerstones, but a picture is worth 1,000 words.
Back to top Go down
TxMaryQuilts
Moderator


Number of posts : 9710
Age : 57
Location : Heart of Texas
Registration date : 2008-09-03

PostSubject: Re: Need opinions on sashing and borders   Mon Oct 24, 2011 9:39 pm

I would have to go for color just because that is who I am.

_________________
TxMaryQuilts    

Always in a Texas state of mind.
http://s1309.beta.photobucket.com/user/TxQuilter59/library/#/user/TxQuilter59/library/?&_suid=136183123861005557608880981697
Back to top Go down
QBee - Mary Ann



Number of posts : 4205
Age : 66
Location : Granite Falls Minnesota
Registration date : 2008-09-03

PostSubject: Re: Need opinions on sashing and borders   Mon Oct 24, 2011 10:20 pm

I like the way the sashing looks with the thin dark edges, but like HP said the dark edges won't separate the sashing . . . well, unless you do 1/8" borders on the sashing. winking I guess I'm like the other Mary Ann- - -I'd have to do color.
Back to top Go down
Jill



Number of posts : 4414
Age : 67
Location : SE Ohio
Registration date : 2010-11-15

PostSubject: Re: Need opinions on sashing and borders   Mon Oct 24, 2011 10:28 pm

I tend to go with pictures because I'm not talented in changing colors around. I am tempted to do a 1/4" dark green edge and the light sashing. At first I was going to use the red for the sashing and border, but thought that would probably be a bit too much.
Back to top Go down
QBee - Mary Ann



Number of posts : 4205
Age : 66
Location : Granite Falls Minnesota
Registration date : 2008-09-03

PostSubject: Re: Need opinions on sashing and borders   Mon Oct 24, 2011 10:33 pm

Jill wrote:
I tend to go with pictures because I'm not talented in changing colors around. I am tempted to do a 1/4" dark green edge and the light sashing. At first I was going to use the red for the sashing and border, but thought that would probably be a bit too much.

I think that would be lovely, Jill!! Thumbup
Back to top Go down
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: Need opinions on sashing and borders   Tue Oct 25, 2011 12:31 am

But then too Jill, if you went with a gold for the sashing and the red or green for the border it would make a nice Xmas quilt !
Back to top Go down
Gimpy Cat
Admin


Number of posts : 20333
Age : 47
Location : Edge of The World - Tasmania, Australia
Registration date : 2008-09-02

PostSubject: Re: Need opinions on sashing and borders   Tue Oct 25, 2011 12:42 am

Take photos of your block sitting on each of the fabrics, that way you will see what looks best border wise pics photo8 sewing2

_________________
"My will is mine.....I shall not make it soft for you"  Aeschylus, Agamemnon
Back to top Go down
Anita M.



Number of posts : 6324
Age : 59
Registration date : 2008-09-03

PostSubject: Re: Need opinions on sashing and borders   Tue Oct 25, 2011 9:11 am

Other thoughts are putting cornerstones inside with the sashing. I really like to do this. It adds a little oomph to it.
Back to top Go down
quiltermarynel



Number of posts : 11568
Age : 72
Location : Trinity Co. California
Registration date : 2008-09-03

PostSubject: Re: Need opinions on sashing and borders   Tue Oct 25, 2011 3:22 pm

I drew up several versions and posted them on quiltingboard.com

After looking at them together, I think I like my on-point idea best, but I'm not wild about any of them, even though I like the block. Good luck.
Back to top Go down
Jill



Number of posts : 4414
Age : 67
Location : SE Ohio
Registration date : 2010-11-15

PostSubject: Re: Need opinions on sashing and borders   Tue Oct 25, 2011 3:52 pm

Anita M. wrote:
Other thoughts are putting cornerstones inside with the sashing. I really like to do this. It adds a little oomph to it.

Thanks for your suggestion, think I'll try that and see how it looks.


Jill
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Need opinions on sashing and borders   Today at 5:12 pm

Back to top Go down
 
Need opinions on sashing and borders
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Need opinions on sashing and borders
» Preamp Opinions?
» Borders closing 400 STORES, 11,000 jobs lost more unemployed
» Dissenting opinions on the Beatles
» Need opinions on Giraffe, Elephants, Kangaroo and Turtle please.

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
The Quilter's Last Resort :: Patchwork and Quilting :: Quilters: Hints, Tips and Advice-
Jump to: