The Quilter's Last Resort
The Quilter's Last Resort

The LAST place you'll have to find when looking for quilting companions.
 
HomeHome  Quilters ResortQuilters Resort  RegisterRegister  Log in  


Asking a quilter to mend is like asking Picasso to paint your garage

Share | 
 

 People's opinions by Lady Texas

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Admin
Admin


Number of posts : 297
Registration date : 2008-09-02

PostSubject: People's opinions by Lady Texas   Thu Sep 11, 2008 7:32 am

Title: People's opinions
Post by: LadyTeXas on November 24, 2007, 07:33:51 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I don't usually ask for people's opinions, I usually go with my gut instinct. I will ask if I need help with a pattern or such. Lady T


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: People's opinions
Post by: sewnsew on November 24, 2007, 07:02:04 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

L~T if I had your awesome way with color and design I wouldn't need to ask for other opinions either. :santa_embarrassed: We keep hoping you will rub off on us. :santa_wink:


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: People's opinions
Post by: Merry Bee on November 24, 2007, 08:03:39 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It doesn't pay to ask for opinions, because I frequently disagree with advice, even when I ask for it. :santa_wink: But it helps to talk it out and clarify my thoughts. When it comes to quilt borders, I love to get ideas from a quilting forum. There are so many ways to set quilt blocks together and then frame them with borders. It is a whole subject for study. I like EQ5 for that reason. You can try out many settings and see what looks good together before buying and sewing up a mistake.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: People's opinions
Post by: missmommy on November 25, 2007, 11:14:38 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I rarely ask for advice but when I do, I ask DH because he has a good eye for color, etc. and is quite honest. I am more compulsive about my sewing/quilting than most.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: People's opinions
Post by: jrquilter on November 25, 2007, 02:44:17 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I ask for others opinions, especially at my quilting group. But mostly it is just for conversations sake. I may follow it for about half the time I ask for it. A lot of times the discussion spurs and idea of my own. But mostly, it is just fun to talk about it.

jr


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: People's opinions
Post by: Merry Bee on November 25, 2007, 02:54:05 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My husband says, "That's nice, dear." I almost expect him to pat me on the head sometime and ask, "Tell me about it...what is it supposed to be?" But when he feels sick, he is the first one to go grab a quilt and crawl under it.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: People's opinions
Post by: Calico_Chris on November 26, 2007, 06:23:10 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I may be the queen of asking opinions but the only contact I have with quilts/quilting is on these forums. Hubby isn't great help. I think he tells me what he thinks I want him to say which is no help at all. :santa_undecided:


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: People's opinions
Post by: golo on November 26, 2007, 06:35:24 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I could ask DH from here to doomsday and he would say "looks good" ... he would be no help... best opinions have come from the quilting gals on line... :santa_cheesy:


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: People's opinions
Post by: Dustee on December 03, 2007, 07:27:34 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi All,

If you know me at all from the forums, you know I ask for a lot of advice. I always take the advice into consideration and put a lot of it to good use. The really good tips and advice are printed out and put in a notebook for later resource.

My hubby is very critical and voices his opinion. Most of the time I don't like his input. I think he is color blind!! Haa Haa!!

Dustee


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: People's opinions
Post by: TxMaryQuilts on December 03, 2007, 07:34:27 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I could probably sew paper feed sacks together and DH would say--"That's nice, is it a new technique?" LOL

My sis and DD give better and more useful opinions.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: People's opinions
Post by: quiltermarynel on December 03, 2007, 06:51:19 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Oddly enough, although my DH can't get the color names straight, he often gives really good advice. BUT when I draw up a pattern on my computer, he often says, "I'll wait and give my opinion when you're done. I can't imagine it right now."


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: People's opinions
Post by: betweens on December 20, 2007, 10:16:21 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I just saw this thread and wanted to jump in.. I do and will ask opinions.. my quilts will hang on the design wall for weeks and I will ask whomever drops by what they think with all the different fabs I have on the side to audition.. that I have already auditioned myself.. my problem.. I like them all I have to narrow it down!! LOL

I bring my tops to stores and talk about them.. I bring my tops to guild meetings when I have the chance to go.. I ask my BH (best half) and he gives wonderful opinions and suggestions.. (he knows what is in my stash!!) I consider what all is said and then I still will do with what I feel is best but also consider the pros and cons of others advise.. My taste I think is very different to others with color and design.. so really it is not fair to ask them.. but you never know there may be something in what someone says that might work.. so it doesn't hurt to ask even if the answer is "nice dear" one day they will surprise you can give you a concrete answer.. then what??!!!

Deb


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: People's opinions
Post by: tlcquiltnut on January 02, 2008, 05:05:24 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If I ask for advice or opinions , it will be someone I respect in the quilting profession. Someone who makes glorious quilts, with a wonderful eye for color....tlcquiltnut


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: People's opinions
Post by: quiltermarynel on January 02, 2008, 11:40:58 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I often ask for advice. I get more than I ask for. Once in a while even the unqualified have good ideas, or suggest things that will give me good ideas. Once when I was teaching writing in a summer school class, I asked the group of 1st to 3rd graders if they knew what an apostrophe showed. One of the smaller girls piped up, "Somebody's thing", which makes as much sense as any professional definition I've heard and has the advantage of being brief.

If I want technical advice, I'll go to an expert. Design, however, can often be improved even by those who know nothing about the subject.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: People's opinions
Post by: Pookie on January 06, 2008, 02:32:29 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Merry bee you make me laugh I am just as bad I ask for an opinion mainly from my mum or sister and I too tend to disagree... though not so much with my sister as she is disgustingly talented and I mean that in a nice way...

I too find by asking for an opinion I seem this seem to help me decide..LOL


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: People's opinions
Post by: Bin4givn on January 06, 2008, 09:17:53 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Quote from: Pookie on January 06, 2008, 02:32:29 AM
Merry bee you make me laugh I am just as bad I ask for an opinion mainly from my mum or sister and I too tend to disagree... though not so much with my sister as she is disgustingly talented and I mean that in a nice way...

I too find by asking for an opinion I seem this seem to help me decide..LOL


Opinions are like weeds, usually too many and not where you want them. Now, I do have a few people I ask to help. DD is 16 and has a wonderful sense of color even when it is not quite my taste. We joke arround about some of her combos but they come out really cool. She knows I ask her advice more as a sounding board and for a different perspective than for information I will actually use the way she states it.

DS 20 is a good sounding board for quilting designs after the top is finished especially if I am debating between two ideas. He is good at picking up design conflicts and sometimes points out 3rd choices I did not see. He is also good for helping me off the fense when I am just not sure about 2 fabrics together. he is usually right.

DS 14 and DH usually have no opinion until it is finished and then the concern is "does it work", ie, will it keep me warm? I have learned not to bother asking unless I am just making conversation and then another subject is better.

I do have a friend who also quilts who is more technically advanced than me. I will go to her with the "how do I . . . " questions especially if I am trying to figure out if a technique I want to try is appropriate for the stage of the quilt I am at.

Now, when I am sewing with the ladies who make charity quilts, we will often confir with each other at just about every phase of making our quilts. One of the worst cases I had there was figuring out the border and binding fabrics for several Strawberry Shortcake quilts I made from their stash. My choices were limited to donated fabrics and my base fabric had some goofy tones in it. The obvious choices were reds and greens but they ended up looking like Christmas which I did not want. It took a few of us a while to come up with good choices.

Terri
Back to top Go down
 
People's opinions by Lady Texas
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Preamp Opinions?
» People who donated to the March/April fund raiser for Urth
» LADY ASTOR AND WINSTON CHURCHILL
» this funny Indian people
» Hey, people! Here I am! Vanesa, from Argentina!

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
The Quilter's Last Resort :: Patchwork and Quilting :: Quilters: Hints, Tips and Advice-
Jump to: