The Quilter's Last Resort
The Quilter's Last Resort

The LAST place you'll have to find when looking for quilting companions.
 
HomeHome  Quilters ResortQuilters Resort  RegisterRegister  Log in  



Wishing you all a Happy and Peaceful Holiday Season


Share | 
 

 How many times do you need another opinion? By Gimpy Cat

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Admin
Admin


Number of posts : 297
Registration date : 2008-09-02

PostSubject: How many times do you need another opinion? By Gimpy Cat   Thu Sep 11, 2008 7:48 am

Title: How many times do you need another opinion?
Post by: gimpy cat on November 24, 2007, 02:40:37 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I quilt alone mostly, havent anyone to show my works in progress to, no one to ask "what do you think of this colour with it?' I thought this area would be good for when we take those digital pics and can post them and say "give me your thoughts, does this border look horrible or not?" I hope you will use it too, the more ideas the merrier :santa_cheesy:


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: How many times do you need another opinion?
Post by: quilton on November 24, 2007, 03:41:28 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Good idea! I always ask DH what he thinks and thankfully he is honest enough to give it! Hopefully, we will be honest enough to answer but be prepared for a ton of opinions! :santa_smiley:


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: How many times do you need another opinion?
Post by: Merry Bee on November 24, 2007, 04:28:49 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gimpy, what is that picture on your avatar? Is is The Cat in a Hat?


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: How many times do you need another opinion?
Post by: sewnsew on November 24, 2007, 06:59:00 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What a good idea. I can always use someone elses input. I usually ask DH too, and he is pretty good about helping. Sometimes you just want more than one other. :santa_wink:


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: How many times do you need another opinion?
Post by: Pawstoquilt on November 24, 2007, 08:20:45 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have no friends (and now no family) that quilts--soooooo when I need an opinion you are going to have to be the ones I ask.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: How many times do you need another opinion?
Post by: gimpy cat on November 24, 2007, 08:34:30 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The avatar is the real life Gimpy Cat, he is getting into the christmas spirit so to speak :santa_wink: If you click the pic below you will see the bigger version




--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: How many times do you need another opinion?
Post by: golo on November 24, 2007, 10:36:32 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Will he share? :santa_cheesy:


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: How many times do you need another opinion?
Post by: gimpy cat on November 24, 2007, 10:40:24 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LOL think he drank it and got a hangover, hiccup


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: How many times do you need another opinion?
Post by: jrquilter on November 25, 2007, 02:46:41 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Funny how he has the same expression. He must prefer to drink alone and didn't appreciate the paparazzi.

jr


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: How many times do you need another opinion?
Post by: Merry Bee on November 25, 2007, 02:51:50 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

He does not appear to be enjoying the hat. Cats are picky about their appearance, you know, he is probably thinking "Bah! Humbug!".


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: How many times do you need another opinion?
Post by: gimpy cat on November 25, 2007, 02:52:57 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

He can be a rather droll or snooty kitty, often has a 'we are not amused mother' look on his face LOL. He is a grumpy thing but he loves me no end, he is mummys boy. He gives the most disdainful looks to laura and the odd time she has been able to pat him under my supervision his skin crawls as if he has been soiled. We reckon he thinks Laura is a freaky hairless cat of some kind. I think he carries a grudge that I had the hide to bring home a 'new pet' when Laura was born LOL He isnt keen on the hat, he prefers the reindeer antlers LOL, I will have to get a pic of that, then he really looks frumpy!!

He truly is Gimpy :santa_cheesy:


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: How many times do you need another opinion?
Post by: QBee - Mary Ann on November 25, 2007, 09:27:08 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Too funny, Gimpy Cat! I was ready to ask if I could come celebrate with Gimpy, but I guess if he's already finished off the scotch I might just as well stay home. :santa_wink:


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: How many times do you need another opinion?
Post by: Litup100 on November 26, 2007, 07:47:00 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I ask DH sometimes. However, I ask in such a way that he knows the expected response. He's not so stupid as to give HIS opinion. He's really giving me back mine.

Example:

Me: "I've spent hours getting this applique completed. Do you think it looks good enough?"

DH: "Honey, it looks perfect. It's obvious you spent a lot of time on it."

However, he may give this answer and not actually look at the applique. The response doesn't quite fit then.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: How many times do you need another opinion?
Post by: quiltermarynel on November 27, 2007, 11:31:12 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I often ask for a second opinion, although usually it does not help much, possibly because I am too darn independent. The DH is very patient about it and often makes good suggestions.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: How many times do you need another opinion?
Post by: BearFoot on November 27, 2007, 01:15:13 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I usually ask for a second opinion from DH, but I don't really want what he really thinks (which is what I usually get :santa_tongue:). I want him to say, "looks perfect, I wouldn't change a thing". :santa_grin: (Rarely get that though!) Now I tell myself...if you don't want to know the answer...DON'T ASK! LOL


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: How many times do you need another opinion?
Post by: Schnookie on November 27, 2007, 04:47:24 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hey that is my type of Cat...I also ask my DH what he thinks and he is usualy pretty good at giving his opinion, I charish what he has to say then go and do my own thing :santa_cheesy: but if you need a spot to get an opinion on something I would think this would be the perfect spot!



--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: How many times do you need another opinion?
Post by: TxMaryQuilts on November 28, 2007, 06:50:55 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I often ask my DD what she thinks. Kids have clearer eyes some times. It also makes her feel involved when I am making gifts for people.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: How many times do you need another opinion?
Post by: golo on November 28, 2007, 07:31:43 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

http://TxMary, how old is you DD.... I am teaching my 9 yr old GD to sew and quilt....I value her opinion... I think the young see things different and it another perspective..the young are our future quilters.......


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: How many times do you need another opinion?
Post by: TxMaryQuilts on November 28, 2007, 11:35:05 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi Golo,
DD is 13. She made her first quilt when she was 11. She has another one ready to quilt but someone, not necessarily me :santa_shocked:, keeps putting off helping her get it basted. She also paints and is learning to cross stitch (from her Aunt). Her passion seems to be cooking though. She loves it.
She seemed to enjoy quilting and wants to make another.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: How many times do you need another opinion?
Post by: Merry Bee on November 28, 2007, 12:26:21 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Quote from: BearFoot on November 27, 2007, 01:15:13 PM
..............Now I tell myself...if you don't want to know the answer...DON'T ASK! LOL


I love this! That is probably why I seldome ask what anybody thinks about my brilliant work.

. tlcquiltnut
Back to top Go down
Admin
Admin


Number of posts : 297
Registration date : 2008-09-02

PostSubject: Re: How many times do you need another opinion? By Gimpy Cat   Thu Sep 11, 2008 7:49 am

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: How many times do you need another opinion?
Post by: quiltermarynel on November 29, 2007, 11:48:40 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I like the idea of posting to get opinions on where to go next. I know, forexample where I am going with the current 'ring' around my parrots, but I am not sure where I am going from there, so I may well post and ask when I get there.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: How many times do you need another opinion?
Post by: Dustee on December 03, 2007, 07:49:35 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi All,

I need opinions. I joined a group of quilters, but they rarely disagree or give negative opinions. I know the colors look hideous sometimes and they still say "Oh, that is Beautiful!"

I often come to the forum for opinions or suggestions. DH takes pictures for me, but I have not learned how to post them yet.

I think this forum is a fantastic idea.

Dustee


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: How many times do you need another opinion?
Post by: Calico_Chris on December 03, 2007, 07:56:38 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dustee its unfortunate that you aren't getting an unbiased opinion. I guess your friends just want to be nice. Personally I ask questions because i want some input. However if someone makes a decision on something and has committed to it and you think they won't change their mind I wouldn't give an opposing opinion kind of like, I just bought 8 yards of this fabric do you like it, what can you say? Being new I have so many questions and I really lack knowledge and experience as a quilter. I relied heavily on folks at QT to help me pick my fabrics, they has some really sound advice and taught me a lot about color values in choosing fabric.....now if Id only listened to the general consensus on the size of project I chose!!....live and learn!...I'll be quilting this project till spring! and am mighty tired of blue fabric!


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: How many times do you need another opinion?
Post by: gimpy cat on December 03, 2007, 01:15:42 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Its lovely when people are polite but I think Id rather they said what they really think (nicely of course LOL) so I knew I got a real opionon not a placebo. The board is great as a place to ask, anyone who looks and thinks "yikes, that quilter needs their head read" can just not respond LOL


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: How many times do you need another opinion?
Post by: quiltermarynel on December 03, 2007, 06:57:40 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In my guild no one ever give a negative opinion publicly, that's a long established custom, and I good one, I think. If I want a suggestion, I have to buttonhole someone. However, there is a major difference between saying, "Boy that's ugly" and giving constructive suggestions, those I think we can all use from time to time.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: How many times do you need another opinion?
Post by: memaw4 on December 21, 2007, 04:14:10 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Well.................one DD says what she thinks and we have wonderful talks about fabric and patterns and even go shopping together. Now DD #2 and DH are about as interested as this table the computer sits on!! :santa_cry: Now there has been times when DH will answer: I guess it looks all right! :santa_undecided: Not quit the answer I was hoping for, but it will have to do. Men!

But, yes, I do like and respect an honest answer. But, we need to remember we all like different things. So whereas I may not like the colors you picked out, I couldn't hurt your feelings and tell you.Even though I'd expect you to tell me the truth. Doesn't quit make any sence does it? :santa_cheesy:
I just won't hurt someone's feelings. But don't mind if you hurt mine. Is anyone else out there like this?

Kay


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: How many times do you need another opinion?
Post by: jrquilter on December 21, 2007, 05:00:17 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I understand where you are coming from Memaw. At my quilt group are some very experienced and talented people. Fortunately they are also very good at being kind when giving good advice. They've given suggestions to my work and whether I followed it or not, I was able to see other possibilities and that helped. Several of them really like color schemes I can't stand. But I'm nice right back and we all have fun together.

On a previous project I asked 9yo DD for advice, and she really came through! She not only chose well for the sashing I was looking for, she pointed out some that would work well for borders. She has a wonderful eye for fashion. 6yo DD has my more unique eye for colors, so she'll need more help when her time comes for decisions.

jr


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: How many times do you need another opinion?
Post by: Litup100 on January 23, 2008, 07:47:24 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Y'all with DD's that sew. That is a hoot to me. I got a new sewing machine and decided to ask DD if she wanted my old one. She said "Naw, but ask John (her DH)." Sure enough he wanted it and paid $10 to download the manual for a 35 year old machine. He hemmed about 10 pairs of his pants that night. She didn't even know how to turn it on. He did call though to ask how to bring the bobbin thread up. DD sure didn't have a clue.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: How many times do you need another opinion?
Post by: quiltermarynel on January 23, 2008, 08:22:12 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Just today, my DH looked at my latest Birthday Swap block. I liked part of it and was really unsure about another part. He liked the part i was unsure about, so I'll go with his opinion.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Title: Re: How many times do you need another opinion?
Post by: tlcquiltnut on January 24, 2008, 11:36:27 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Well, I have a particular friend that I can count on for an opinion. She will tell the truth as she sees it and has a wonderful eye for color...
I do ask DH, but he didn't particularly like my Orange Dream quilt. Too bright for him. His comment was, "well it is orange." ;D He is pretty carefull about giving opinions, especially the ones, "how do you like my hair?" lol ;D
I will take a project to the LQS if I need fabric / color questions. You have your favorites there but all of them are my favorites. They are all experienced quilters. tlcquiltnut
Back to top Go down
 
How many times do you need another opinion? By Gimpy Cat
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» How many times do you need another opinion? By Gimpy Cat
» How many times have you watched Mai HiME?
» Gerard Butler charmingly tells "The Ugly Truth" - LA Times
» Cooking times
» Card Store For Vanguard/YuGiOh in Yishun (Delightful Times)

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
The Quilter's Last Resort :: Patchwork and Quilting :: Quilters: Hints, Tips and Advice-
Jump to: