The Quilter's Last Resort
The Quilter's Last Resort

The LAST place you'll have to find when looking for quilting companions.

HomeHome  Quilters ResortQuilters Resort  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Wishing you all a Happy and Peaceful Holiday Season

Share | 

Ettiquette for Swaps !

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
golo

Number of posts : 13244
Registration date : 2008-09-02

PostSubject: Ettiquette for Swaps !   Mon May 04, 2009 9:36 am

I know there are some who have never been in Swaps and aren't sure what they should do..... now that I have hosted a couple I just wanted to point out a few things that are helpful.

First off Swaps are really fun and you should never shy away from one because you are worried how your project will look compared to someone elses.... every block I have ever recieved has always been wonderful in the quilts that I have made and I think I have done up seven of them (I'm a beginner at swaps .. LOL)

I think the most important rule of swaps is to get your project done and mailed off before the due date so the host has it on time...

I have found that the Post Office envelopes are the best to mail them in...I think they are water proof... and I am very guilty about sending a manila envelope as my return envelope, but I think we take a chance with them... they aren't the most reliable at staying closed or getting ripped.

Make sure you send that returned envelope with your name and postage on it.. sometimes we are so excited we forget those things...

Enclosing your blocks in a plastic bag is a really good idea... so if your envelope is ripped open your blocks will be protected.. and including your name and address inside the plastic bag with your blocks is another good idea....

Include your online name along with your real name... a hostess may only know you by your online name.... and sending a little thank you is an individuals choice, but a FQ is always a nice little gift to the hostess for her time...